District News

Congratulations to our PTA Educators of the Year

Posted on: May 6, 2019
PTA winner headshots

Congratulations to our PTA Educators of the Year! Our PTAs shared the following information with us about their winners. We are so proud of all of these educators. Thanks for all you do for our students every day! #highlanderstrong

Oak Hills High School: Andy Schroeder
Andy Schroder is an amazing math teacher and swim coach. He genuinely cares about each and every student he comes in contact with at Oak Hills. He spends countless hours before, during and after school making sure his students understand the material and the concepts he is teaching them. He is always available to them. As a swim coach, he is always encouraging his athletes to do their best, to push themselves, to strive to be better. He encourages them to be students first and athletes second, recognizing when a student needs to leave practice early to prepare for a test, etc. Mr. Schroeder is a gifted teacher, an encouraging coach, and a genuinely caring and wonderful person.

Bridgetown Middle School: Jill Wolfe
Jill Wolfe has been a dedicated member of the Oak Hills Local School District since 2002 and has served countless hours to her school’s PTA since becoming a teacher. Currently, she works very closely with the current Bridgetown PTA and is known as the driving force behind making sure all the needs of the students and staff are met. She is a staple attendee of every single PTA meeting, works tirelessly for her staff, supports and promotes all fundraising efforts, and always puts her students and their needs first.

Delhi Middle School: Brandy Smith
Brandy Smith is a seventh-grade history teacher on the Gentoo team. She started teaching at DMS in 1988. She also helps with student council, organizes the Veterans Day program, and helps to proctor the Geography Bee.

Rapid Run Middle School: Scott Chenault
Scott Chenault is such a caring and passionate teacher. He is able to engage teenagers and bring American History to life as well as challenge thought processes in Innovation and Design. His empathy and compassion in class are second to none.

C.O. Harrison Elementary: Caitlyn Smyth
Caitlyn Smyth teaches kindergarten and she makes sure that every student who enters her classroom feels important and loved. She motivates and guides each student so that they can become more independent lifelong learners.

Delshire Elementary: Tara Willig
Tara Willig was chosen because of all her help. She helps at every single event we host. She comes up with new ideas and ways to raise money and is always willing to take a pie in the face or whatever we ask of her. She truly supports PTA and the entire staff, student body and PTA love and respect her for all the hard work and programs she's started here.

John Foster Dulles Elementary School: Paul Feichtner
Paul Feichtner leads kids through social situations, helps guide them through emotional development, is a great role model and gives the kids a top-notch education. He cares that every student reaches their fullest potential, is truly a master of his craft, has a rhyme and reason behind all of his instruction, has great communication skills and will go above and beyond for students.

Oakdale Elementary: Heather Packer
Heather Packer as been teaching at Oakdale Elementary since 2000. She is an incredible asset to the building and holds many leadership positions both at Oakdale and in the district. Heather is a team player and is always willing to help someone and go the extra mile.

Springmyer Elementary School: Susan Wood
Susan Wood has been at Springmyer for her entire career of 32 years! She is loved by parents, students and faculty due to her enthusiasm in the classroom and willingness to go the extra mile to help all of her students.