Side Menu Ends, main content for this page begins
Back to Side Menu (includes search)

Congratulations to Scholastic Art Awards National Medalists Molly Audretch and Marshall Shorten!

Posted on: March 23, 2023 9:00 am

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards has an impressive legacy dating back to 1923. Over the years, the Awards have grown to become the longest-running, most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in the U.S., and the nation’s largest source of scholarships for creative young artists and writers. A noteworthy roster of past winners includes Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Robert Redford, Joyce Carol Oates, Stephen King, John Updike, and many more.

Each year, the Alliance partners with more than 100 visual and literary arts organizations across the country to bring The Awards to local communities. Teens in grades 7 through 12 can apply in 28 categories of art and writing for the chance to earn scholarships and have their works exhibited or published. Submissions are juried by luminaries in the visual and literary arts, some of whom are past award recipients. Panelists look for works that best exemplify originality, technical skill, and the emergence of a personal voice or vision.

More than 100,000 students submitted more than 260,000 works of art and writing to the 2023 Scholastic Awards. Gold Key Regional winners compete on the National level for Medalist Awards. Molly and Marshall's work was selected by some of the foremost leaders in the visual and literary arts for excellence in originality, technical skill, and the emergence of a personal voice or vision. Less than 2,000 works received a National Medal, which places them within the top 1% of all submissions!

Molly Audretch's (10) piece, “An Upward Glance”, was awarded a Silver Medal, and Marshall Shorten's Portfolio (12), "Nervous Young Man", earned a Silver Medal.


An awards ceremony for National Medalists will take place at Carnegie Hall in New York City in June. Congratulations to Scholastic Art Awards National Medalists!